Moon Road by Sarah Leipciger

ISBN: 9780857526540
Checking local availability
RM99.95
Product Details

Publisher,Doubleday UK
Publication Date,
Format, Paperback
Weight, 446 g
No. of Pages, 368

Gripping, witty, emotional literary breakout for fans of ELIZABETH STROUT and BARBARA KINGSOLVER: an estranged couple meet again after twenty years for a roadtrip across Canada in search of their lost daughter.

For fans of Elizabeth Strout and Barbara Kingsolver: Beautifully observed portrait of marriage, divorce and reconciliation as an estranged couple go on a road trip to uncover a family mystery.

'Sarah Leipciger is a consummate storyteller' RACHEL JOYCE
'Tough, tender, wonderful' JOANNA QUINN, author of The Whalebone Theatre
'A sucker-punch of a novel' GRAZIA

'Kathleen is a wonderful character, spiky and obstinate, but also vulnerable and big-hearted’ GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
____________________________

It’s irksome to her, how well she knows this man, how much he has changed and how exactly the same he is ...

Kathleen and Yannick have not spoken for nineteen years, not since what happened with their daughter.

Now, there’s unexpected news from the other side of the country, and the call for a road trip they can only make together.

As they rattle over two thousand miles in a pick-up, through forests, over mountains and into service stations, an alluring history reveals itself: of fierce love, complicated ex-wives and headstrong children, and of a unique bond that never really went away.

As they drive, argue, gossip and reminisce, an unexpected future for this once estranged couple begins to emerge.

MOON ROAD captures the wonder and grief of watching our children grow up; of recovering from long buried pain, and rediscovering those closest to us when we think we know all there is to know; and of learning to live and love in a completely new way.

‘Delicately observed, forceful and moving, this story of love, family bonds and the agony of loss is utterly absorbing - and so beautifully written' LUCY ATKINS

‘A beautifully imagined portrait…a melancholy, meditative and simply gorgeously written story about two people, and enduring love' WOMAN AND HOME

‘A truly divine book, I loved both its simplicity and depth’ PRIMA book of the month

'A road trip into the human heart. Generously alive' FRANCIS SPUFFORD

'Fierce, tragic, lyrical. I just loved it' CLAIRE FULLER

 

About the author

Born and raised in Canada, Sarah Leipciger lives in London with her three children, and teaches creative writing to prisoners. Her short fiction has been shortlisted for the Asham Award, the Fish Prize and the Bridport Prize. Her first novel, the critically acclaimed THE MOUNTAIN CAN WAIT, was published in 2015. COMING UP FOR AIR is her second novel.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)